Usenet downloads

Although the Usenet was originally conceived as a major knowledge archive for the exchange of messages, it has developed today into a popular download platform. This has been made possible by the so-called binary newsgroups. Unlike normal newsgroups, binary newsgroups also enable the publication of file attachments, the so-called binaries. These can then be downloaded by other users.

In contrast to peer-to-peer networks, for example, files are not shared directly between two users. There is also no general expectation that users will make files available themselves. The Usenet community is, therefore, fully accepting of users who only read messages or download files without posting anything themselves.

High-speed downloads from the Usenet

If files are exchanged between two computers, the download speed is always limited by the upload speed of the other computer. Because the upload speed of many Internet providers is very slow, it can often take a considerable amount of time to download larger files.

The decentralised structure of the Usenet makes it possible to achieve very high download speeds. Files are already stored on special Usenet servers. This special architecture enables users to take full advantage of their own broadband Internet connection and download data at unbelievably high speeds.

Users with a fast Internet connection can download an impressive 600 MB in just under 30 seconds, as this “download record video” proves.

Usenet Downloads

Während das Usenet ursprünglich als großes Wissensarchiv zum Austausch von Nachrichten konzipiert war, hat es sich heute zu einer beliebten Download-Plattform entwickelt. Ermöglicht haben dies die so genannten Binary Newsgroups. Im Unterschied zu normalen Newsgruppen können hier auch Dateianhänge, die so genannten Binaries veröffentlicht und anschließend von anderen Nutzern heruntergeladen werden.

Die Daten werden nicht direkt zwischen zwei Nutzern ausgetauscht. Zudem wird in der Regel nicht erwartet, dass User selbst Dateien zur Verfügung stellen. Es wird im Usenet also durchaus akzeptiert wenn User lediglich Nachrichten lesen oder Dateien herunterladen, diese aber nicht selbst posten.

Highspeed-Downloads aus dem Usenet

Tauscht man Dateien zwischen zwei Rechnern aus, ist der Download-Speed immer durch die Upload-Geschwindigkeit des Gegenübers begrenzt. Da die Upload-Geschwindigkeit vieler Internetprovider sehr langsam ist, nimmt das herunterladen von größeren Dateien somit oft viel Zeit in Anspruch.

Durch die dezentrale Struktur des Usenet sind so sehr hohe Download-Geschwindigkeiten möglich. Hier sind die Dateien bereits auf speziellen Usenet Servern gespeichert. Diese spezielle Architektur ermöglicht es die ganze Bandbreite des eigenen Internetzugangs voll auszuschöpfen und Daten mit ungeahnten Download-Geschwindigkeiten herunterzuladen.

Wer über eine schnelle Internetverbindung verfügt, kann satte 600MB in knapp 30 Sekunden laden, wie dieses „Download-Rekord-Video“ beweist.